Awesome Yellow Rice

On my quest to improve my cooking I am trying four to six recipes per week. I found a recipe by Emeril Lagasse  for Yellow Rice. I made it Friday night and found it to be very flavorful and moist. I’m so proud of the way it came out that I had to come post the recipe.

yellow-rice1

Emeril’s Yellow Rice
Recipe courtesy Emeril Lagasse
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 cup minced white onion
1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 bay leaf
3 cups chicken stock
1 1/2 cups long grain rice
1 teaspoon salt
In a large sauté pan oven medium heat, add the olive oil and melt the butter. Sauté the onions until soft, 4 to 5 minutes. Add the garlic, turmeric and bay leaf and cook for 1 minute. Add the rice, stock and salt; return to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover and cook for 25 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand covered for 5 minutes. Remove the lid and fluff the rice with a fork.
Yield: 4 to 6 servings

This can be made entirely in the Rice Cooker. In  fact that is the way I made it. I sauted the onions and garlic in butter with the machine plugged in. Added the remaining ingrediets and set it to cook. The end result was fabulous!