Buttermilk Marinated Chicken Breasts

buttermilk oven chicken

Oh the wonders of Buttermilk!! In my experience I have found that buttermilk adds a lot of flavor and moisture to chicken. I marinated some chicken breasts in buttermilk and then hours later breaded them with my own homemade dry bread crumbs. This recipe is very low in fat and calories! The best part was that the chicken was moist and the coating was very crispy!!

Here is what I did:

1 cup buttermilk

1 package dry ranch or Italian seasoning (I used ranch)

Mix well and add chicken to a zip lock bag. I had 5 lbs of breasts so I used two bags and split the buttermilk dressing into both bags. Let chill over night.

Preheat oven to 350*F.

For the breading:

1 Cup dry bread crumbs

1/2 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese

1 Tablespoon Oil

In a large bowl Mix the bread crumbs, cheese and oil until well combined and no lumps remain.

Remove chicken pieces one at a time and dip them into the bread crumb mixture, then place them into a roasting pan. Discard the buttermilk!!

Bake at 350*F for 45-55 minutes or until they reach 165*F or the chicken juices is no longer pink.