Burrito Mix

When I was a young bride so many years ago, I had such a small budget for food. I had to learn to extend my meat dishes so my food dollars would stretch payday to payday. We made less than $6,000 the whole year, so you can imagine why I had to make cheap meals. Lucky for us my dear husband was in the air force and I could buy my groceries at the commissary. My mother in law rest her sweet soul gave me a book titled 100 ways with Hamburger. I found burrito mix and it tasted so good I still make this today 34 years later. It’s so simple my son makes it for dinner on nights I have asthma attacks or migraines.

Burrito Mix

1 lb. ground beef or turkey
2 cups cooked white or brown rice
1 pkg taco seasoning mix
1/4 cup hot water
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 package flour tortillas or taco shells

Prepare the rice enough to yield 2 cups cooked rice. In a skillet brown the ground meat until no longer pink, drain well. Add the rice, seasoning package and water, then simmer until all the water is absorbed. Add the cheese and stir until the cheese is melted. Heat tortillas or taco shells then place 1/4 to 1/3 cup in each tortilla. Serve with chopped tomatoes, lettuce, sour cream and extra cheese.

