Homemade Vanilla Pudding

I was reading a post on a blog of a friend of mine over at http://thirtyaweek.wordpress.com/ . She made some homemade chocolate pudding that had me drooling. However I am allergic to chocolate in a big way so I told her I would endeavor to make some awesome vanilla pudding from scratch. Well today I jumped on board and made some. I found the pudding to be a little bit sweet for my liking so next time I will cut the sugar by 1/3 to 1/2 and see if it comes out better. All in all the recipe was very well written and you can find it here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Homemade-Vanilla-Pudding/Detail.aspx

Here are the pictures and the recipe. I hope you will try this and take a quick look at Tina’s 30 bucks a week chocolate pudding. http://thirtyaweek.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/chocolate-pudding/

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

2 cups of Milk
1/2 cup white sugar (you can reduce this for less sweetness)
3 Tablespoons Cornstarch
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract (reduce to 3/4 tsp)
1 Tablespoon butter

In a sauce pan over medium heat, heat the milk and butter till small bubbles form on edge of pan.

In a bowl combine the sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Pour into hot milk while stirring to dissolve the mixture. Continue to cook and stir until mixture thickens enough to coat the back if a metal spoon.

Do not let the mixture boil, but remove it from the heat quickly. Stir in vanilla and pour into serving dishes. Chill before eating but do taste the spoon, I guarantee you will love it.

Thanks Tina for a wonderful idea for keeping the cost down on such warming comfort foods.

